Understanding Teams

 

Working with federated teams is a powerful feature of the CMS that lets users administrate multiple apps and brands under one login.

 

WHAT IS A TEAM?

 

Every time a user subscribes to a new plan they become the owner of ONE new team. During the registration process, team owners have to designate a team name. Once the subscription plan is active they can invite others to join their team. Invited team members do not have to pay to join and have full access priveledges. They can do everything the owner can do, except manage teams.

If a user is a member of multiple teams they can switch teams in the CMS without having to log in again. Each team is completely autonomous and isolated from the other teams. Users can only access teams that they are members of.

 

HOW DO TEAMS WORK?

 

1. Each team requires a separate subscription.

2. Each team is owned by one user who pays for the subscription and can invite others to the team.

3. Team members cannot invite new users to the team. Only the owner can.

4. Team members do not have to pay to join a team.

5. The number of team members is determined by the subscription plan of the team owner.

6. If a team has reached its member limit, the owner has to upgrade their plan to add new members.

7. All team members have the same project access rights.

8. Each team is independent and isolated from the others. Members of team A cannot access team B unless they are members of both teams.

 

 

WHY ARE TEAMS SO USEFUL?

 

Each team is an autonomous unit. Everything in the CMS that a team member can access is shared across the team and isolated from other teams. This includes all projects, branding and app configuration.

This is very useful for content creators, studios or enterprises that have several clients or apps. As each team is a unique entity with its own branding and unique content, it allows them to manage several clients and/or brands from one central location.

The federated team structure keeps this process segregated and centralized while allowing multiple people to collaborate on teams.

 

TEAM MEMBER ACCESS RIGHTS

 

Each member of the team has the same full access rights and can:

 

1. Create, delete, edit projects

2. Publish/Unpublish projects

3. Customize branding

4. Access heatmap analytical data

 

INDIVIDUAL USER ACCESS RIGHTS

 

There are a number of user settings that won’t affect the rest of the team which allows users to:
 

1. Change their password

2. Manage their name and profile picture

3. Change their email address

4. Activate their devices

 

TEAM OWNER RIGHTS

 

The team owner is the user who pays for the subscription plan. Team owners can:
 

1. Invite and remove team members (within the limits of the subscription plan)

2. Change the team name and profile picture

 

CREATING A NEW TEAM

 

Any user can create a new team by registering a new subscription plan and inviting others to their team.

 

SWITCHING TEAMS

 

When a user who is on multiple teams logs into the CMS,  they can use the team selector in the drop-down navigation of the CMS to switch between teams.

 

The CMS has a useful feature that ensures that all activated devices in Admin Mode and the CMS are kept in lockstep when switching teams. If a user switches teams on the CMS, all activated devices in admin mode will switch teams and vice versa.

It is a good practice to refresh or restart your apps after switching teams on the CMS. Conversely refreshing your CMS in the browser after switching teams on an activated device in admin mode is advised.

This synchronization feature works on an individual user level and will not affect other team members.

An example:  Bob and Doug are both on Team A and Team B. If Doug switches to Team B in the CMS all the apps he activated will switch to Team B, but Bob’s devices *will not*.

Switching Teams

Save any changes you make in the CMS BEFORE switching teams on an activated device. Otherwise, the CMS will automatically switch teams and when you then try to save your changes from the previous team you will get an error message and lose your changes.